13th International Symposium on Minimal Residual Cancer 2023

Young Investigator Awards | Poster Awards


The Advisory Committee is happy to announce that outstanding presentations will be awarded with "Young investigator awards”! 

On Day 3 of the ISMRC, we have reserved an entire session for junior scientists to present the winning papers and receive awards.

2 Gold Awards

€ 500 each

2 Silver Awards

€ 300 each

2 Bronze Awards

€ 150 each



The European Liquid Biopsy Society

ELBS Young Investigator Award in Honor of Dr. Rita Zamarchi

Award money € 1.500

The Prize, which is based upon the decision of an ELBS-appointed jury, consists of a certificate and the sum of 1.500 €. 

It will be awarded for the best abstract submitted by a young researcher to commemorate Dr. Rita Zamarchi (1961-2021), a member of the ELBS society who significantly contributed to the field of liquid biopsy. The winner will be selected based on excellent scientific quality, originality of the research and quality of the presentation.

The award is the result of a spontaneous collection among Rita's colleagues and friends who wanted to tighten up in her memory, leaving a tangible sign. 

Dr. Rita Zamarchi

Dr. Rita Zamarchi, an oncologist with great human depth, dedicated her life to oncology research. This is evidenced by more than 130 scientific papers and long experience in the field. She worked on physiology and pathology of the immune system and pathogenic mechanisms of lymphoma in immune-deficient hosts and contributed to the discovery of the genetic control of the CD4/CD8 ratio in humans. 

Since 2006, she had been involved in the study of the predictive value and biologic significance of Circulating Tumor Cells (CTCs) in solid tumors, by coordinating the CTC laboratory at the Veneto Institute of Oncology IOV-IRCCS (Padua, Italy) and collaborating to several national and international projects in this field. She was the Clinical Coordinator of the FP7 study CTCTrap (www.utwente.nl/tnw/ctctrap/), supported by the European Community. In 2015, she won an IMI 11th call as partner of the CANCER_ID consortium